Castle Coole, the family home of the Earls of Belmore and one of the treasures of the National Trust. Designed by James Wyatt, this magnificent neo-classical house took ten years to build. Completed in 1798. The chimney pieces carved by Westmacott, plasterwork created by Rose, scagliola columns and pilasters created by Bartoli. The surrounding 700 acre estate is a fitting setting for the house, with parkland, Lough Coole and extensive woods.
Fermanagh Castles & Forts
Devenish Island contains the substantial remains of Lough Erne's most important island monastery. St Molaise founded it in the 6th century on an historic pilgrim route to Croagh Patrick. It later became an Augustine Priory of St Mary. The remains include a Romanesque church and a 12th century round tower, crosses and the Priory Church. Visitors can climb the islands most striking feature, the perfect round tower, which is 30 metres tall.
Enniskillen Castle, Co Fermanagh Enniskillen Castle Museum is located within the historic Enniskillen Castle and was established in 1976 by Fermanagh District Council. The museum collections reflect Fermanagh's history, culture and environment. Enniskillen Castle is home to 'The Inniskillings Museum' with its collection of uniforms, weapons, medals and memorabilia dating back to the 17th Century.
The parish of Killesher, which includes the village of Florencecourt, is an area boasting remarkable landscapes. Florence Court House Palladian style built in the early 18th century. Florence Court is well known to gardeners as the home of the Irish Yew, Taxus baccata ' Fastigiata', which is now a feature of gardens throughout the world.
Tully Castle, Co Fermanagh Tully Castle set on beautiful Tully Point and first documented in 1619. In the 1970s the site was cleared of ivy and growth revealing the paths of an old garden. On the current site, a 17th century style garden has been recreated for visitors to enjoy while the ruins are also very impressive. An abandoned farmhouse, just a short stroll along a pathway from the Castle, has been restored as a visitor centre and contains an exhibition telling local stories relating to the castle.