Foynes Flying Boat Museum
During the 1930s and early 1940s, the port of Foynes was the fulcrum point for air traffic between the United States and Europe. The famous flying boats were frequent visitors, carrying passengers who ranged from celebrities to refugees. The Foynes museum recalls the era with a comprehensive range of exhibits and graphic illustrations. It also includes a 1940s style cinema, the original terminal building through which many VIPs passed, war years' radio and the weather room. Irish coffee was "invented" here in 1943. There is also a coffee shop and souvenir shop on the premises.
The Hunt Museum
The Hunt Museum is home to one of Ireland's greatest private collections of art and antiquities. Generously donated to the 'people of Ireland' by John and Gertrude Hunt who collected pieces from the four corners of the world. The Collection reflects our Celtic past as well as masterworks by Da Vinci, Yeats and Renoir. The elegant eighteenth century Custom House provides an ideal setting for an enjoyable visit, our riverside restaurant looks out over the Curragour Falls and the museums gift shop showcases a wide range of local and international crafts and gifts.
Limerick Agricultural Show held at Limerick Racecourse in August is a large agricultural show in the Munster area. It has a large number of trade stands with displays ranging from show jumping for horse and ponies, Farrier displays, Cookery demonstrations, Pet corner, Flower displays and more. Kate O'Brien Weekend held in February is a celebration of the life and works by Kate O'Brien, an Limerick born author of the 1800's. Some of her work includes her first best seller, Without My Cloak, and later The Ante Room, That Lady, The Land of Spices and The Last of Summer. Limerick City and surrounding area is steeped in history with the likes of the medeivel village of Adare and its pretty thatched cottages and Adare Castle, King John Castle in Limerick City a fine example of a 13th century castle. The Hunt Museum is a private collection of art and antiquities donated by John and Gertrude Hunt who collected pieces from around the four corners of the world. The Foynes Flying Boat Museum is dedicated to recalling that historic time from 1939 to 1945, when Foynes, Ireland, became the centre of the aviation world. Lough Gur Visitor Centre is an area of important archaeological significance, detailing how Celtic settlers of Ireland farmed and lived in this peaceful valley, and is located 11 miles to the south east of Limerick city centre near Bruff, a magical place of megalith tombs, crannogs, castles, stone circles and ancient sites and where Lough Gur Storytelling Festival is held in October. Looking for somewhere to enjoy a stroll Glin Castle stands in a 500 acre wooded demesne on the banks of the River Shannon. Also talk a walk through Ballyhourigan and Ballinboola Woods. For those who are interested in Horse Racing in Limerick go along to Limerick Racecourse, Greenmount Park, Patrickswell for some live action.