Longford Visitor Attractions to see and do.
Ardagh Clock Tower, Longford, the focal point of the village green is the clock tower. Built during 1862-3, it commemorates Sir George Ralph Fetherston. Other features of interest here include the ‘Travellers Rest’ seat in the churchyard wall and the neat flowerbeds. The village courthouse was one of the buildings surrounding the village green. In the centre of the main green stands the village pump
Abbeyshrule Cistercian Abbey is situated east of Ballymahon in a picturesque valley of the River Inny. A Cistercian Abbey was founded here in 1150 and was one of the earliest in the country following the success of the first foundation at Melifont in County Louth. The Abbey was founded by the O'Farrells and was eventually closed by Queen Elizabeth 1 during the Tudor suppression of the monasteries. The lands were granted to Robert Dillon, Earl of Roscommon. The adjoining graveyard contains part of the only high cross in County Longford. The Royal Canal passes through Abbeyshrule on its way from the Shannon to Dublin. Note the Whitworth aquaduct built in 1817 to carry the Royal Canal over the River Inny.
The ruins of Inch Mór on Lough Gowna is a reminder of one of the oldest centres of Christian worship in the North Longford.
The Aughnacliffe and Cleenrath Dolmens, the dolmen in Aughnacliffe gives the townland its name “The Field of the Stones”. It stands in the lee of a frontal moraine from the last glaciation.