Historical House, Castles and Forts in Louth.
Knock Abbey Castle was first built in 1399, it was called Thomastown Castle and consisted only of a simple square building; the tower house where the interpretative centre is now housed. This structure offered its owners, the Bellews, comfort and security at a time when skirmishes between the native Irish and the New English and Norman settlers were quite common. Reflecting their prestige and position, the Bellews extended the tower house to the west around 1650. That extension with its original stairwell and its elegant six-bayed facade still exists today.
Monasterboice Monastery and High Crosses in Co Louth which was founded by Saint Buite, who died in 521 AD, contains two of the finest High Crosses in Ireland, both of these Crosses are made of sandstone and date to around the 9th century. The site also has a round tower, which is in excellent condition.
Old Mellifont Abbey , Tullyallen, Drogheda, Co Louth was founded in 1142 on the orders of Saint Malachy, Archbishop of Armagh. Mellifont Abbey sits on the banks of the River Mattock 10 ten km (6 miles) north-west of Drogheda. By 1170, Mellifont had one hundred monks and three hundred lay brothers. The Abbey became the model for other Cistercian abbeys built in Ireland, with its formal style of architecture imported from the abbeys of the same order in France; it was the main abbey in Ireland until it was closed in 1539, when it became a fortified house.
Smarmore Castle, Ardee, Co Louth combines the charm of one of Ireland's oldest castles with the facilities and service of the most modern accommodation. We offer Five luxurious bedrooms (so you wont feel overcrowded). Four poster bed available. Free use of our leisure club. Tasty Italian cuisine. Golf and other activities nearby. Ideal location for visiting Newgrange, the Boyne Valley & Cooley Peninsula. 60 minutes from Dublin, 90 minutes from Belfast.