Mayo Visitor Attractions
Achill with its Atlantic location, five Blue Flag beaches and breathtaking mountain landscape provides an unrivalled arena for outdoor activities and watersports of all types. The Atlantic waters around Achill Island and the Curraun Peninsula are home to a wide range of sealife and varieties of fish, making the area one of the best sea angling destinations in Ireland. The heritage of Achill is also explored by the Achill Archaeological Summer School, which is currently undertaking an extensive survey of the Deserted Village at Slievemore.
The Céide Fields, Ballycastle are the oldest known field systems in the world, over five and a half millennia old. It is a unique Neolithic landscape of world importance, which has changed our perception of our Stone Age ancestors. The remains of stone field walls, houses and megalithic tombs are preserved beneath a blanket of peat over several square miles. The multi-award winning Centre has exhibitions, audio-visual show and tearooms.
Croagh Patrick this ancient place in history, Patrick's sacred mountain, and a rich vein of archaeological heritage. Croagh Patrick is situated five miles from the picturesque town of Westport and the mountain's conical shape soars majestically above the surrounding countryside. Magnificent views of Clew Bay and the surrounding south Mayo countryside are to be had.Follow the steps of Patrick and in doing so meet people from far and near. Teach na Miasa, The Croagh Patrick Visitor Centre, is situated in Murrisk on the Pilgrim's path at the base of Croagh Patrick mountain and opposite the National Famine Monument.
Enniscoe Historic House - The Mayo North Family Heritage Centre, situated on Enniscoe country estate, is dedicated to promoting the rich heritage of the region. You can choose to wander around the Victorian walled garden and pleasure grounds, or take a boat out and try some fishing on Lough Conn. Enniscoe is also an ideal base from which to go golfing, hiking, cycling and horse riding, or to discover the rich heritage of the region.
Foxford Woollen Mills Visitor Centre, imagine a unique and thriving woollen mills set in the wild and rugged West of Ireland in Mayo, famous worldwide for its rugs and tweeds, and blankets. Take the industrial tour and experience the sights, sounds and smells of this 19th century woollen mills. Afterwards relax in the comfortable restaurant and browse through the impressive mill shop.
Kiltimagh Railway Museum which in the 1980s the Historical Society acquired the old Goods Store and turned it into a Museum. Two old Railway Carriages were acquired to commemorate the thousands of our people who had had to emigrate, and these were incorporated into the Museum. Now the Museum houses many artefacts from our past, such as the Land League Banner, buried for safety in a bog for forty years, the instruments of the 19th century town band, items from Kiltimagh Lace School, Railway artefacts and many other items reflecting different aspects of our past.
Knock Shrine, Knock, Co Mayo on 22 August 1879 fifteen local people saw a vision of Mary the Mother of Christ. Two church commissions examined the claim- "The claim was 'trustworthy and satisfactory'". Now Knock Shrine is one of the major Marian Shrines of the world. Knock Folk Museum documents the story of the Knock Apparition of 1879 and places it in the context of the lifestyle of the people, their traditions and customs at the time. Knock Shrine is located under 20 minute drive from Knock Airport.
Quiet Man Cottage Museum is a novel concept which will give the visitor a total Quiet Man experience as if they were actually 'on-set'. Located by the river at Circular Road, Cong, between actual locations used for the filming, the ground floor of the cottage has been designed as an exact replica of 'White-o-Mornin' Cottage. Painstaking effort has ensured that all the furnishings, artefacts, costumes etc are authentic reproductions. The four poster bed and the tables and chairs which 'Mary Kate' cherished, the thatched roof, emerald green half door and white washed front combine to charm all those who visit it. "Quiet Man Cottage Museum" is a must for any Quiet Man enthusiasts, or even those wishing to visit a typical Irish cottage of the 1920's.
Westport House Mayo designed by the famous architects Richard Cassels and James Wyatt in the 18th century, Westport House is located west of the Shannon and is one of Irelands’ most historic homes open to the public. Westport House enjoys a superb parkland setting with lake, terraces, wonderful gardens and magnificent views overlooking Clew Bay, the Atlantic Ocean, Achill, Clare Island and Ireland’s holy mountain Croagh Patrick. It was built and is still privately owned by the Browne family who are direct descendants of the 16th century Pirate Queen, Grace O’Malley.