Roscommon Castles & Forts
Boyle Abbey, was the first successful foundation in Connacht of the Cistercian order which had opened its first Irish house at Mellifont, County Louth, in 1142. In the 12th century Malachy of Armagh (later St. Malachy) became aware of two new monastic orders in France, the Cistercians and the Cannons Regular of St. Augustine and he decided to introduce both orders to Ireland.
The Castlestrange Scribed Stone located in the grounds of "Castlestrange House" near Athleague in County Roscommon. It is a granite boulder decorated with flowing spirals in the La Tène style, dating from the Iron Age period between 500 BC and 100 AD.Only three other stones of this type have been found in Ireland, of which the Turoe stone in County Galway is the best known. The use of the stones is not known but it is assumed they served some religious or ritual purpose.
Clonalis House was built in 1878 by Charles Owen O'Conor Don. This imposing building has 45 rooms and was built in Victorian Italianate style. . Clonalis House is the Ancestral Home of the O'Conors, Kings of Connacht and at various times, High Kings of Ireland. The approach to Clonalis House is through a set of magnificent gates along an avenue over looking a parkland of oak and copper beach trees, nestled in a crescent of cypress and redwood trees. The Library lined with ancient tomes, some of which date to the 16th century, is a wonderful room to spend time sitting by the peat fire and absorbing a sense of history. The handsome Dining Room with its portraits of generations of O'Conors, the elegant Drawing Room and the peaceful Chapel all contribute to the atmosphere which is Clonalis.
King House is a magnificently restored Georgian Mansion located in Boyle, County Roscommon. It was built in the early 1700’s for Sir Henry King, whose family were one of the most powerful and wealthy in Ireland. After its first life as a home, King House was converted into a military barracks in the 19th century for the famous Connaught Rangers regiment. At the end of Civil War in 1923 the barracks passed into the control of the newly formed Irish Free State ArmyMarvel at the grandeur, savour the magnificence of the period rooms, or just have fun exploring our interpretive exhibitions designed for both adults and children alike!
The historical town of Roscommon to the north is home to this magnificent ruin of Roscommon Castle. This Norman castle was built by Robert de Ufford, Lord Justice of Ireland, in 1269. But it passed into Irish hands seven years later when it was taken by Hugh O'Conor, King of Connacht. It was restored in 1280.The castle is quadrangular in shape with rounded bastions at the corner, and a double-towered entrance gate, as well as a rectangular gate tower in the west wall.
The ruined ‘Abbey’of Roscommon is on the outskirts of the core of the old town of the same name, and is reachable by a path at the back of the Abbey Hotel. It was founded just over 750 years ago by Felim O Conor, king of Connacht, who was buried there himself in 1265.
Strokestown Park House is an 18th century mansion which has been faithfully restored. It is unique in that it retains its original furnishings and professionally guided tours allow visitors to browse freely through the stately surroundings. The 4 acre 18th century walled pleasure garden has been fully restored to its' original splendour. It's piece de resistance is its' herbaceous border which is recorded in the Guinness Book of Records as the longest herbaceous border in Britain & Ireland.
Donamon Castle, Cuisle is located only 10 minutes from the thriving market town of Roscommon yet is nestled in a secluded tranquil country setting
Go to top of page