Athlone Castle built in the 13th century on the Shannon. Athlone Castle now includes audio-visual presentations on the flora, fauna and the power resources of the area. Also open to visitors is the museum, coffee shop and tourist office.
Moydrum Castle is a fine example of the mock-castle, a style beloved by the Gothic Revival school of Francis Johnston, the Morrisons and others in the early years of the 19th century. The original Irish name for the locality was Moidrome – Magh Droma, "plain of the ridge". The Handcocks obtained a grant of 5,500 acres in 1680, which formed the Manor of Twyford, and they continued as large land and property owners in Athlone until the 20th century. Moydrum Castle has featured on a U2 CD cover.
Portlick Castle is a 12th century Dillon Castle located on the shores of Lough Ree with 30 acres of walled gardens, wooded areas and pasture land. The castle and period extensions have all been extensively renovated to a very high standard. It is the only Medieval castle in Ireland which has been used perpetually as a residence. The Norman family of De Lion (later called Dillon), under the charter of King John, built Portlick Castle in 1185. The family were devout Catholics who fought in the Irish rebellion. Although banished for a time to Connacht by Cromwell, they did not leave their home for good until 1696.
Tullynally Castle and Gardens has been home to the Pakenhan family since the 17th century. The castle, still lived in by the family today, has been the home to the Earls of Longford for more than 350 years. Built in the 17th century, the house was designed as a Georgian mansion, and later, as a Gothic revival castle. The castle offers guided tours of the unique collection of furniture and pictures, the Victorian kitchen and laundries, and the gardens. The gardens are made up of numerous smaller gardens and ponds such as the Woodland Garden, the River Sham, the Flower Garden, the Kitchen Garden, the Swan Pool, and the Grotto Path.
- Crookedwood most 7 miles from Mullingar, dates back to the old legends of Fionn and the Fianna. A 14th century stone roofed church, called the Church of Taughmon can be found here and behind it lies a ring fort. If you return to the main road and take the direction of Castlepollard, you can see Lough Derravaragh, associated with the legend of "The Children of Lir" changed into swans for 900 years by their jealous stepmother, they spent 300 years of that time on this lake.
- Fore Abbey & Church. The Christian monastery at Fore was founded by Saint Feichin in 630AD, St Feichin died of yellow plague in the 660s, at that time it's believed there were up to 300 monks in the monastery. Between 771 and 1169 Fore was burned at least twelve times. Around 1200 Norman landlords the De Lacys built a Benedictine Priory dedicated to Saint Feichin and St Taurin.
- Irish High Cross of Bealin now situated on a small hillock in Twyford Demesne, Co Westmeath.
- Multyfarnham Franciscan Friary In the present friary church parts of a 15th century church survive, including the nave, south transept and tower, as well as the south window (though not its glass). Nothing remains of the chancel or of the original domestic buildings. The church was given its present form in 1827 when the Franciscans returned to their old monastery.