Last Updated: 29th July, 2018
Berkeley Forest House is a Georgian building, the home of the owners, dating from 1780. Two large rooms are occupied by a collection of 18th and 19th century costumes, dolls and antique toys from the early 18th century to modern times. The exhibits range from rare and delicate artefacts to simple and robust playthings and garments of the past. There is also a small pretty garden adjoining, which is open to the public. Guided school and other tours by arrangement.
Craanford Mills a unique early 17th Century watermill just four miles from Gorey, off the Gorey - Carnew road. This corn grinding mill has been fully restored to working order and is on view to visitors, with guided tours and wholesome food being served in the kiln loft. An added feature of a garden has recently been developed along side the mill. This project which has been lovingly restored by the owner over the past four years was highly commending in the Henry Ford Conservation Awards in 1996 and was just pipped for first prize in the Heritage Category. For the 20th century visitor, a watermill like the one at the quaint village of Craanford is well worth a visit.
Dunbrody Emigrant Ship was primarily a cargo vessel and carried timber from Canada, and cotton from the southern states of the USA. The ship was fitted out with bunks and facilities for passengers desperate to escape the harrowing conditions at home. From 1845 to 1851, between April and September, she carried passengers on her outward journeys to Canada and the USA. She usually carried 176 people but on one crossing, at the height of the Famine in 1847, she carried 313. Today you may board this ship at the Quay in New Ross and see the conditions which immigrants would have been faced with back in the 1800's.
Duncannon Fort is a star shaped fortress on an important promontory in Waterford Harbour. It was built in 1588 in the expectation of an attack on the area by the Spanish Armada. The Fort is surrounded by a 30 ft high dry moat and has one of the oldest lighthouses of its kind in Ireland. All the major buildings in the Fort surround a parade ground. A walk around the outer ramparts afford spectacular views across the estuary to Co. Waterford and down to Hook Head. Located at a lower level than the moat is the croppy boy cell. After the 1798 rebellion, prisoners were detained here pending transfer to Geneva Barracks for trial and sentencing. An added attraction is the Maritime Museum which charts the maritime history of one of the most dangerous coastlines in Ireland, the Wexford coast.
Hook Head Lighthouse, is a magnificent example of an operational 800 year old Lighthouse, it is four storeys high and visitor can enjoy a tour of the Lighthouse, finishing with spectacular views from the balcony. Afterwards you can enjoy the visitor centre and gift shop and café located in the old Keepers Houses. Relax by the sea and keep an eye out for seals, dolphins and even whales! The Visitor centre at Hook Lighthouse in County Wexford, Ireland, is one of the premier visitor attractions in the south east and offers free parking, garden picinic area and Free Wifi access in the Visitor Centre. The Lighthouse sees a number of Art workshops onsite through out the year as well as a number of Festivals & BBQ's. This 13th Century Norman structure, built by the Earl of Pembroke as part of the development of his Lordship of Leinster. Purpose built as a lighthouse, it has served sailors and shipping for 800 years, apart from a short closure during the 17th century. It is thought to be one of the oldest operational lighthouses in the world. When the Tower of Hook became fully automated in 1996 and no longer needed resident keepers, it was decided to celebrate its uniqueness by opening it to the public. Take a drive on the Hook Peninsula and enjoy the Irish scenery.
Dedicated to the memory of John Fitzgerald Kennedy, President of the United States from 1960 to 1963, the Arboretum in New Ross, Wexford, is a plant collection of international standing. It covers 252 hectares (623 acres) on the southern slopes and summit of Slievecoiltia.
Newtownbarry House, Gardens and Gallery, the history of the garden, with its curious stone arched grottoes at either end, stretches back to an earlier period, perhaps contemporary with Woodfield, the 18thC house which Newtownbarry House replaced and shown on the ordinance survey map of 1840. The restoration of the gardens began with the reinstatement of a stream fed lake in front of the imposing house 12 years ago and continued into the walled rose garden designed by Frances and Iain MacDonald. There are many appealing and the Hickory tree is of special note. Visitors can enjoy a tour of the house where paintings by contemporary artists are exhibited in an art gallery housed in a wing and residential art courses are on offer in the restored kitchen.
The Kennedy Homestead, birthplace of the 35th President of the United States, President John F. Kennedy's great-grandfather Patrick Kennedy, celebrates the story of five generations of the Kennedy dynasty and is still today farmed by his descendants. Joining the multitudes of Irish fleeing the Great Famine, Patrick Kennedy departed from this Homestead for the port of New Ross on a wet day in 1848 to set sail for the United States where his descendants were to become the worlds most famous family.