Glenveagh Castle is a 19th century castellated mansion and was built between 1867 and 1873. Henry McIlhenny, the last owner of the castle, served the Philadelphia Museum of Art as Curator of Decorative Arts and his expertise in this field is evident throughout the castle. Glenveagh National Park is located 24km north-west of Letterkenny and can be reached via the villages of Kilmacrennan or Churchill.
Grianan Ailigh is a group of historic monuments in County Donegal built on the hill of Grianán which is 244 metres high. It is believed that the ancient burial site could well have been dated to the Neolithic Period. (1700 BC) The cashel dates from an early historic period (600 A.D). St Patrick was said to visit the site in the 5th.Century. There is a well, known as 'St. Patrick's Well' on the site. Local Legends would call this a holy well from the old faith and would attribute healing properties to the water.
The Celtic Prayer Garden is a six-acre site laid out in the shape of the island of Ireland which depicts the lives of the major saints of Ireland’s Golden Age (5th to 12th Century). It affords the visitor/pilgrim an opportunity to learn about Ireland’s Celtic Christian Heritage and the relevance of the charisms(gifts) these men and women had and used in their everyday lives. The garden is a place of incredible peace and natural beauty which affords the pilgrim time and space away from today’s hectic pace of life. Using the Guide/Prayer Book the pilgrim will visit the dry-stone cell of St Columba (Colmcille), St Canice’s straw-bale, built Oratory, the bird sanctuary of St Ciaran, the cave of Columbanus, the Trinity Circle with its magnificent bronze statue of the Risen Christ. Having been spiritually refreshed in the garden, the cafe and shop at the Visitor Centre provides lunch, beverages, snacks and an array of hand-crafted gifts. Prior notification of group numbers is essential.
Newmills Corn & Flax Mills, Letterkenny, Co Donegal are situated on the Churchill road, beside Newmills Bridge on the south bank of the River Swilly, 5 kilometres west of Letterkenny in the small town of Milltown in County Donegal, Ireland. It features one of the largest, still working, waterwheels in the country. The millrace is 1 km long and powers two separate millheels, one for grinding oats and barley and the other for flax.
This is an ancient pilgrimage that takes place on Station Island in Lough Derg, Co Donegal, Ireland. The traditional date of the origin of the pilgrimage is from 445, when Saint Patrick visited the lake. Its importance in medieval times is recorded in the fact that the lake is the only Irish site named on a world map of 1492. The association with St Patrick dates back to the legends that while in a cave on the island, Patrick is said to have had a vision of the punishments of Hell. Hence the place came to be known as St Patrick's Purgatory.
Tory Island offers spectacular cliff scenery and is steeped in history and historical monuments. Colm Cille figures prominently in the history of this sacred island which he chose as a place of retreat and meditation for his monks. Shipwrecks, poitín smuggling and tales of violent storm have also been drawn into its folklore. Islanders speak a distinctive Gaelic and is part of the Donegal Gaeltacht. Tory is frequently visited by ornithologists.